Author Topic: I’m done with Democrats  (Read 934 times)

Offline BigAlSouth

• Established Member
  • Who won't 'co-exist?'
I’m done with Democrats
« on: April 23, 2019, 10:33:49 AM »
I’m done. I’ve bailed out on social media discussion sites where I’ve tried to have a decent, respectful, rational discussion regarding politics. To simplify my reasons, and there is really only one: Libs and Progressives are f**k!ng crazy.

I tried. Gosh almighty I tried. I tried to encourage critical thinking. I often used the Socratic Method to draw people out. I tried “don’t just say that ‘_______’ is an asshole! Tell me why you think ‘________’ is an asshole. I tried questions that required a simple yes or no question. They saw every question as a debate trap. (Often, in my smugness, it was). I had non-lawyers sanctimoniously tell me what the law is. (I graduated from Law School almost 40 years ago) Their hubris, their condescension, their ignorance was beyond measure. Now, tell me how one may have an intellectual conversation with a five year old?

The last straw was a thread about North Carolina’s attempt to change the rape laws to allow a woman to withdraw consent after penetration. They mocked my reciting English Common law, NC Law, Louisiana Napoleonic  Code, and Federal rape law. (Federally rape law? Hahaha you are so stupid!) Fine. Rape someone on an Indian Reservation and see what the federal charge is.

I’ve been called a rape apologist (I have 2 daughters), a hater of Muslims and all around flyover country southern ignorant redneck. (See screen name). So, I’m done. I won’t miss those groupthink fantasists.
The problems we face today are there because the people who work for a living
are outnumbered by those who vote for a living.
--------------
The enemy of my enemy is my friend; the friend of my enemy is, well, he is just a dumbass.

Offline BigAlSouth

• Established Member
  • Who won't 'co-exist?'
Re: I’m done with Democrats