Author Topic: *Climategate 2* Climate Scientist admits that they "were not especially honest"  (Read 2793 times)

Offline Papa Bear

• Newb
Let me start with some honesty/housekeeping: I am biased!

I am a research engineer that works on alternative energy. I believe:

• We need to open up every source of energy possible.
  • Cheap energy = advancement of humanity.
  • Significant CO2 increase = marginal increase in temperature (i.e. doubling CO2 will cause about .7C increase in worldwide temperature).
  • Minor increases in temperature probably provide more benefits than problems (i.e. the increase in arable land is much more beneficial than the supposed harm [can anyone point to ANY REAL potential Global Warming issues other than rise in sea level]).
  • The scientists promoting "the cause" of AGW are cherry picking data. Telling the truth would not scare people enough.
  • The earth's environment has built in feedback mechanisms that tend to regulate global temperatures. If man causes temperature increases, the earth will radiate more energy to space and bring the temperature back into balance. Their is existential proof that the environment is stable - the fact that we exist. There are many times in the past that the earth has been much warmer and had a much higher CO2 concentration than now. Obviously there was no tipping point then, what has changed?

GLOSSARY
Here are some terms (I will update this as I expand the thread) you see above and in the rest of the thread:
  • AGW - Anthropogenic Global Warming - the theory that man is the primary cause for significant and catastrophic warming of the entire earth
  • The Team (AKA the Hockeystick team) - The group of scientists that promote the theory that the recent temperatures are increasing at an "unprecedented" rate. According to the original author, Michael Mann, the curve supposedly looks like a hockey stick