Author Topic: Catholic Bishops to Obama on health care diktat: Pound sand  (Read 6254 times)

Online IronDioPriest

• Administrator
  • Conservative Superhero
  • I refuse to accept my civil servants as my rulers
Catholic Bishops to Obama on health care diktat: Pound sand
« on: January 31, 2012, 10:26:24 AM »
I've been saying for two years that the only resistance to the burdensome regulatory regime in the absence of legislatively gutting bureaucracies, is for corporations and citizens to secure the support of a state in defiance to the regime, and thereby force the federal government to either craft legitimate laws, send in tanks, or stand down.

Well finally, a shadow of what I've been calling for for two years will be attempted by an organization with perhaps more universal ability to resist than even a state: the Catholic Church.

Bishops pledge to defy Obama administration on contraception mandate

Earlier this month, HHS issued a finding that reaffirmed its position that all employers had to comply with a new mandate to provide contraception support in health-care plans — even religious organizations whose doctrines oppose pre- and post-conception intervention.  Needless to say, the decision — which gives churches and other explicitly religious organizations only a one-year waiver to comply — are outraged over the intrusion on their consciences.  Three Catholic bishops announced yesterday that they will defy the Obama administration and fight the rule, and more will surely follow:

[blockquote]At least three Catholic bishops have said they will not comply with the mandate the Obama administration put in place recently in Obamacare that will force religious employers to pay for birth control, contraception and drugs that may cause abortions in their health care plans.