Author Topic: The economy is easy to fix.  (Read 4903 times)

Offline Predator Don

• Conservative Superhero
Re: The economy is easy to fix.
« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2011, 05:19:34 PM »
Libertas: I would argue unions and government regulation and taxation are all riders in the same cart

And as a small business owner, I totally agree. This gov't mentality of control, regulation and taxation has reached to the very smallest of cities. Layers upon layers of hidden fees. A negative mindset.

Consider my dilemma, and this is occuring in every city in America: Small project, 150K cost, had land, but it has a dry stream.... considered wetlands. Unless I wanted to purchase another wetland so I could "destroy" this one, I cannot do my small project. If I did the project, here are my list of costs before the first shovel:

1) 9K to hook up to sewer
2) 6 K to get water
3) $750.00 building permit
4) $6k impact fee
5) 75.00 to get in front of "board"
6) Full set of drawings to be approved by city. (cost unknown)
( even though company I would purchase from includes detailed drawings)
7) 1500.00 electrical hookup
8) Approval of city water dept : 150.00
9) Approval of city sewer dept: 150.00
10) Inspection fee: 45.00 X3
11) electrical inspection fee (cost unknown)
12) Purchase a "wetland"...... (who the hell knows the cost)

All this for a 20x20 building.....On top of the cities building restriction as to what materials are deemed appropriate for the city.

10,000 people in my town. This is commonplace all over America. This mentality is destroying our country. My local leaders are too busy searching for reasons to hinder or tax a project, instead of providing assistance as to avenues to get the project done. They have no concept of creating more business opportunity, thus increasing the tax base in a state that works off a sales tax. No, thier sole focus is to create another tax...To get them out of the hole thier in....