Author Topic: Why sane Americans hate unions  (Read 1158 times)

Offline oldcoastie6468

• Conservative Hero
Why sane Americans hate unions
« on: November 18, 2013, 10:44:52 AM »
Some cops allowed to work after drinking

Jim Noelker

Ohio State Highway Patrol officers are among many members of law enforcement who can’t be disciplined if they have a blood-alcohol content below .04 at work. That rule, enforced by some union contracts, has raised concerns among groups such as Mothers Against Drunk Drivers. “If I’m a law enforcement officer, I would be the last person in the world who would want to have alcohol on my breath when I pull someone over,” said Doug Scoles, executive director for MADD in Ohio.

By Josh Sweigart and Amanda Seitz
Staff Writer

Law enforcement officers in some area communities can strap on a gun and issue tickets for drivers who are more sober than they are, a Journal-News investigation found.

The newspaper reviewed union contracts for local public safety offices, including the Ohio State Highway Patrol, and found that officers and firefighters are sometimes protected from discipline when they are at work with alcohol in their system.

These rules are often enforced by union contracts.

In Lebanon, where officers and firefighters can work with a .04 blood alcohol level, Police Chief Jeff Mitchell said he’s actively pursued more stringent alcohol rules to be written into the city’s union contracts.

Mitchell, who’s been in charge for nearly two years, said he negotiated his first union contract this past summer. He got the unions to remove a clause that allowed officers to suck on a breath mint before they were tested for alcohol, but couldn’t get union representatives to reduce the .04 limit to zero.

“When I came across that, I thought, ‘Wow, that’s different,’ ” Mitchell said, adding that breath mints can distort breathalyzer readings.

“Doesn’t that sound odd to you that you would have that in a contract with police?”