Author Topic: The Job Market is now kobayashi-maru test  (Read 1658 times)

Offline IronDioPriest

• Administrator
  • Conservative Superhero
  • I refuse to accept my civil servants as my rulers
Re: The Job Market is now kobayashi-maru test
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 12:38:01 PM »
I like the idea of going to a prospective employer and saying, "I have the equivalent of a masters degree in _____, but I am entirely self-taught in order to avoid untenable debt. Please give me the opportunity to demonstrate."

That may still be an approach that would be overlooked by many employers for a more conventionally educated candidate, but looking at the education bubble and the decreasing value of a university degree, I think such an approach has an increasingly viable future.
"A strict observance of the written laws is doubtless one of the high duties of a good citizen, but it is not the highest. The laws of necessity, of self-preservation, of saving our country when in danger, are of higher obligation. To lose our country by a scrupulous adherence to written law, would be to lose the law itself, with life, liberty, property and all those who are enjoying them with us; thus absurdly sacrificing the end to the means."

- Thomas Jefferson

Online Pandora

• Administrator
  • Conservative Superhero
  • I iz also makin a list. U on it pal.
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 12:42:07 PM »
On the other hand, Gunsmith's company has recently announced that they are moving to a totally-degree-d workforce.  They will be "attriting" those without one.
"Under certain circumstances, profanity provides a relief denied even to prayer." - Mark Twain

"Let us assume for the moment everything you say about me is true. That just makes your problem bigger, doesn't it?"

Offline IronDioPriest

• Administrator
  • Conservative Superhero
  • I refuse to accept my civil servants as my rulers
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 12:52:18 PM »