Author Topic: It's Friday  (Read 12655 times)

Offline rickl

• Established Member
Re: It's Friday
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2011, 11:35:15 AM »

Video and audio, back then for sure, is not done at the same time.  They do each separately then the engineer/producers put them together.  If it's live it's done as what is referred to today as lip sink.  Live performance, actual, was rare.

The "set" would necessarily have to be as secure as a recording booth.

I know, but this video really redlined my BS meter.  They really look like they're using their instruments as props.  

I'm not a musician, so I can't vouch for the guitar and bass player.  Maybe IDP can fill us in.  I've never seen a "drum kit" quite like that, though.  One bass drum and one tom-tom?  And the guy is standing.  How is he playing the bass drum, by telepathy?

And prove to me that there's actually a keyboard behind that box.   ;D
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 11:46:29 AM by rickl »
We are so far past and beyond the “long train of abuses and usurpations” that the Colonists and Founders experienced and which necessitated the Revolutionary War that they aren’t even visible in the rear-view mirror.
~ Ann Barnhardt

Offline IronDioPriest

• Administrator
  • Conservative Superhero
  • I refuse to accept my civil servants as my rulers
« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2011, 11:52:39 AM »

Video and audio, back then for sure, is not done at the same time.  They do each separately then the engineer/producers put them together.  If it's live it's done as what is referred to today as lip sink.  Live performance, actual, was rare.

The "set" would necessarily have to be as secure as a recording booth.

I know, but this video really redlined my BS meter.  They really look like they're using their instruments as props.